Mortal Instruments books appeal to a wide array of readers

Mortal Instruments books appeal to a wide array of readers

Courtesy of strangechemistrybooks.com

Harmony Hankins, Reporter

One of the most successful authors of the year, Cassandra Clare first made herself known when “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones” was first published in 2007.

The series is about a teenage girl named Clary Fray, whose adventure starts when she witnesses a murder involving three other teenagers at the Pandemonium Club in New York City.  Little does she know that these teenagers are actually half angel hybrids, called Shadow Hunters, who hunt demons for a living.  Soon after confronting Jace, one of the teenage boys, Clary discovers that the world she lives in is more grim than she could ever have imagined.

“Cassandra’s ideas were very creative, and the books were very well written,” said Josilyn Bertrand.

Despite her female characters Clare’s books have proven to be popular amongst both boys and girls alike.  “The setting was the most unique than any book I’ve read,” said Colby Ellis.

The books became popular enough that, in 2013, “City of Bones” became a full fledged movie.  The movie was produced by Bob Shaye and Michael Lynne, the same people who oversaw the production of the “Lord of the Rings.”  With Harald Zwart directing, the movie was filmed in both New York and Toronto, and was released on August 23, 2013.

Although the movie received a number of bad reviews, most of which calling it a “Twilight” wanna be, there has been talk about a sequel.  The production of which was suppose to start September 2013, but has been put on hold.  Whether or not they will go through with it has yet to be disclosed to the public.

However the movie did receive a few positive reviews.  “Exciting, but not too violent.  A great choice for teenagers,” said assistant principal Emme Liddell.

With “The Immortal Instruments: City of Heavenly Fire” now finished and in stores Clare is already planning a spin-off series called “The Dark Artifacts” which will be released in 2015.

This new series takes place five years after the events of “The Immortal Instruments: City of Heavenly Fire” in Los Angeles, California.

This trilogy is about a young Shadow Hunter girl named Emma, who lost her parents when the Shadow hunters were on the brink of oblivion during “City of Heavenly Fire.”  Raised in the Los Angeles Institute by the Blackthorn family, Emma has made it her life’s mission to get revenge on whoever or whatever had killed her parents.  Unfortunately before she can get the chance a series of murders involving the Fairies break out across Los Angeles.

Like all writers Clare started out small, writing in entertainment magazines and tabloids.  Before that she only wrote short stories in high school to amuse her friends and classmates.  She only began to professionally write fiction novels in 2004 after inspiration for “City of Bones” struck her.  Her first published work was a short story called “The Girl’s Guide to Defeating the Dark Lord.”

Clare’s books will enchant readers who liked Rick Riordan or Holly Black, and stories about impending doom and romance.